RSS
Image

Umps Get it Wrong Again

10 May

​On Wednesday, umpires in the Indians-Athletics game after looking at a replay didn’t reverse their call of a double to what was a clear home-run. The A’s should have tied the Indians at 4, but Cleveland ended up winning the game by a run.

​Then yesterday, umpires in the Astros- Angels game allowed Houston to make an illegal pitching change.

HERE’S WHAT HAPPENED:

​The Angels had 2 runners on, and Astros manager Bo Porter wanted to make a pitching change. Porter brought in Wesley Wright to replace Paul Clemens, but after seeing that Angels manager Mike Scioscia put in pinch hitter Luis Jiminez. Porter then changed his mind and put in Hector Ambriz. Wright didn’t throw a pitch.

​Scioscia immediately came out to argue, but umpire Fieldin Culbreth didn’t know that what Porter did was against the rules. If what Porter did was legal, managers would be constantly changing pitchers and hitters to get the favorable matchup. There would be absolute chaos.

​HERE’S WHAT RULE 3.05 (B) STATES REGARDING PORTER’S ACTION:

If the pitcher is replaced, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute batter, until such batter is put out or reaches first base, or until the offensive team is put out, unless the substitute pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the umpire-in-chief’s judgment, incapacitates him for further play as a pitcher.

​Wesley Wright should have thrown at least one pitch, but the umpires didn’t know the rule and allowed Porter to do what he wanted.

​The funny part is that Scioscia protested the game following the missed call, but the Angels ended up winning the game 6-5 making the protest meaningless.

​Blown calls like the ones the past 2 days are absolutely unacceptable and could have been easily avoided. Joe Torre and Bud Selig have their work cut out for them for finding a way to prevent these missed calls from happening and if they are going to discipline any umpires.

UPDATE:

CULBRETH HAS BEEN SUSPENDED FOR 2 GAMES, AND THE REST OF THE CREW HAS BEEN FINED AN UNDISCLOSED AMOUNT.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 05/10/2013 in MLB

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: